Why?

Standard

Why is it that my husband wants to come read over my shoulder when I’m writing a blog post or cruising Facebook, but never when I’m pinning cool stuff he should buy for me? It’s an absolute mystery.

In other news, I’m down 5 pounds and blow 250, which makes it a little easier to breathe. Halfway to the first goal, which is a nice little boost as I get ready to spend the afternoon at my mom’s house. Ordinarily, it wouldn’t be much of an issue , but my aunt is there.

My aunt has a super power. She is a crazy effective enabler. I do not lie, the woman has the ability to derail even the most dedicated of dieters. When I called to check in with mom today, they were headed out to Sam’s Club.

Hold me.

I made specific requests: hummus, watermelon, blackberries. I spent 20 minutes on the elliptical trainer this morning. I’m tracking my food. I’m trying to keep my weight on my mind, so I don’t get to my mom’s house and flip the hell out, snarfing chips and guac and margaritas until I’ve put back on all 5 pounds. I’ll let myself have one margarita. That will be my treat. But I’ll also be forcing myself into my swimsuit and getting in the pool. If that doesn’t kill my appetite, I don’t know what will.

I’m halfway there. HALFWAY to my first goal. If I can reach this first mark, I can stay strong till the next one. And then I’m almost all the way to losing 10% of my body weight. Which is epic. I want that. I want it bad.

I just have to remember that I want that, when confronted with cookies and ice cream, cheese dip and bread.

Pray for me today. I think I’m going to need it.

Leave a Reply

