Bean and Corn Salsa Salad

Standard

Here it is, chickens, as promised.

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup lime juice
1 tbs cumin

1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can of shoepeg corn, drained and rinsed
1 bunch of cilantro, chopped
4-5 tomatoes chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 red onion, chopped fine
1 jalapeño, seeded and minced
2 avocados, chopped
salt to taste (add it slowly, it doesn’t need much!)

In a small bowl, whisk the vinegar, lime juice and cumin together. Set aside.

In a large bowl combine beans, corn, cilantro, tomatoes, pepper, onions and jalapeño. Pour dressing over the vegetables and stir. Add in the avocado and stir again. Add salt, a 1/2 tsp at a time, tasting after every addition. I generally skip the salt or add a scant 1/2 tsp if I’m taking this to a gathering.

You can eat the salsa immediately or refrigerate it. It keeps for about a week in the fridge, even the avocado. (I promise!) The acidity of the dressing keeps it from going brown.

I serve it with chips, over meat, as a salad…anything. I use it wraps, with plain hummus. I toss it with carnitas and romain lettuce. I eat it with a spoon. It’s good over eggs. I’m not joking when I say I could live on this stuff.

You’re welcome.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

