Quick, Call the Doctor!

Standard

In the past couple of weeks, I have had a kidney infection so severe, it sent me to the emergency room, a random virus that has caused vomiting and aches and just today, a rash and fever that Dr. Internet tells me is probably shingles.

Oh. My. Hades. Make. It. Stop.

I’m not in a good place right now. Feeling like a wrung out snot rag will do that to you. I missed a celebration with a friend who has finished her book, lunch with a different friend, cookie sales, a dinner/movie date with my husband, a chocolate festival, a wine tasting, a Girl Scout meeting and now may have to miss my favorite GS event ever, Thinking Day. I’m bummed, chickens.

BUT! Look what came in the mail today!

IMG_0299

If you’re a Whovian, you’re squealing right now.

Instant feel better.

I did not order this. This is the very best kind of gift. The out of the blue, what the heck, I would have never bought this for myself, but would have pinned it on multiple Pinterest boards and coveted it with all my geeky heart.

A while back, in January (I think), I responded to someone who posted about brightening days in 2013. The deal was this: 5 people responded to your post and you agreed to do something for them during the year. It could be anything, card, gift, note, treat, whatever. I’ve sent out one, but my Lenten sacrifice has halted my cheer spreading. Which is fine. I’ve got time. But this was a result of that. I responded to Dana’s post and she sent me this wonderful little treat that I absolutely adore with all my two Gallifreyan hearts.

And if you’re wondering who the handsome chap on the cameo is, it’s David Tennant as the 10th Doctor.

I don’t even care that I probably have shingles.

Okay. I totally care. But I’ll be wearing my new cameo to today’s appointment, while wishing my Doctor looked like David Tennant and drove a TARDIS.

UPDATED: I do not have shingles. I do have an asshole of an ER doctor, who thinks I’m a hypochondriac. Apparently my problem stems from too many pharmaceutical ads. I’m allergic to something in my laundry soap, the fever is from the virus and I’m still contagious so for heaven’s sake, “don’t go spreading it around.” Ugh.

Is there a pill for being a jerk?

2 responses »

  1. I’m about to go put my poor sick saga on my blog (which is so woefully neglected…agh) but it is no way as bad as yours. Hope you feel better soon.

    And can I just say, no one ever responded to my post to send things out. Apparently my friends don’t trust my taste? I may just mail some random stuff anyway. Anyway, I’m glad you received your item when it was most needed šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

