Austerity Mode

Standard

We’re t-minus 9 days from school starting here.

Yes, we start ridiculously early here. Vestigial year round scheduling, you are a pain in my ass.

This means no more staying up until 10 pm (them) and 2 am (me). No more sleeping until 8 am. (10 am for Selby, our resident sleeper.) We’re gradually transitioning to a school-year schedule. We’re brushing up on our math skills. We’ve read all summer, but now I’m making them write a little. Most of their efforts have been about their cruel mother. This is my honored face.

In related news: Target, Office Depot, Staples and Wal-Mart would have me believe that I need to load up on school supplies NOW! NOW! NOW! I’m not buying it. Any of it. Not yet, anyway.

My kids have perfectly good backpacks. They don’t need new ones. Their lunch boxes need to be replaced, because I caved last year and bought the poorly made character type. Never again, my friends.

The kids won’t get supply lists until a week after school starts, when Back To School night happens and the teachers decide to reveal what supplies will be mandatory. I’ve already stocked up on the constants: notebook paper, tissue and Ticonderoga pencils.

Go Ticonderoga or  go home, yo.

But my children, who have been allowed to glut themselves on television so I can get shit done, they are pretty firmly convinced that in order to even be admitted to the hallowed halls of elementary school, we need to buy a bunch of crap. Advertisers have done their job on those two. My firm and unyielding “nope,” has netted me arguments, requests for explanations and protests. I’m horrible and as previously noted, cruel.

Not really.

What I really am is done with the unnecessary spending.

(Except when my friend goes to New York and brings home the most beautiful “Michael Kors” *wink* purse I’ve ever seen, and is willing to let me buy it off her. I’ll be honest. That felt pretty freaking necessary.)

I’m paring down everything around here. In years past, we’ve celebrated back to school with a shopping spree. But celebratory shopping gets expensive. It feels wasteful to me. And with two summer birthdays, the budget doesn’t allow for a lot of extraneous spending this time of year. So no trolling the aisles at Target, buying just to buy.

Yeah, I’m feeling pouty about it. I love doing that. LOVE.

Heather, over at Want What You Have, advocates shopping for school supplies when they go on clearance. She stocks up for the next school year at this time. I sort of did this last year and spent 17 cents for a package of notebook paper that is currently $1. Cue virtuous feeling. This year, I’m buying all our school supplies that way. It makes sense to pay less when you can. Besides, I feel like protesting school supplies being marched out at the beginning of JULY. Come on, retailers, enough of the premature roll-outs. Speaking of which…

~rant~ I WENT INTO SAM’S CLUB YESTERDAY AND THEY HAD HALLOWEEN COSTUMES OUT. IN JULY. I AM SO NOT KIDDING. MY CHILDREN WILL CHANGE THEIR MINDS ABOUT WHAT THEY WANT TO BE FOR HALLOWEEN 73 FUCKING TIMES BEFORE OCTOBER 15TH, SO IF YOU THINK I’M BUYING COSTUMES A FULL 3 MONTHS EARLY, YOU ARE HIGH ON BULK PACKAGED CLEANING SUPPLIES. ~/rant~

Yeah. Now I’m going to have another cup of coffee, calm the hell down and figure out what the hell to do about lunch boxes this year. Something sturdy and washable because holy crap, my kids are death on lunch boxes.

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

