Day Fourteen – Whole 30

Standard

Wait. 

What?

I’m almost halfway through?

How did that happen?

It’s going well. I’m still struggling with sugar cravings and fruit intake. I can NEVER buy dried figs again. I have no will power where they are concerned. None. Nada. Zilch.

A while back, I accidentally purchased a big pack of chicken wings. How does one accidentally purchase chicken wings you ask? It’s easy. Take your children shopping with you. While you’re telling them to keep their damn hands to themselves and for the love of Moses, please shut up- notice a package of chicken on sale and grab it. Don’t look carefully, your son is scaling a mountain of toilet paper packages.

Voila! Surprise chicken wings.

Anyway, last weekend, I tossed those wings with some paprika, salt, cumin and pepper. My husband grilled them and a big mess of red onions, zucchini, mushrooms and garlic. NOM NOM NOM. So good. No, I didn’t save you any. Sorry.

Breakfast:  2 eggs, scrambled, topped with a bits of crumbled, fried proscuitto; a white nectarine. Hot tea with coconut milk.

Lunch: Leftover chicken wings with Awesome Sauce and grilled veggies. (I said I didn’t save you any, not that there weren’t any leftovers.)

Dinner: Pot Roast and steamed carrots.

Interesting story: I generally make my pot roast by tossing it in the slow cooker with balsamic vinegar and beef broth, so that’s what I did this time. Not five minutes later, I’m looking at the Whole 9 forums and happen to see something about balsamic vinegar. Guess what? My brand of balsamic vinegar is not Whole 30 approved. It has added sulfites. Ick. So I rinsed the roast and veggies and plopped them back in the crock pot with broth and a little fish sauce. Day saved.

I’m sorry, that was so not an interesting story. That may have been the most uninteresting story ever. It does have a moral though. Read the damned labels. Know your shit. Pay attention to what goes in your mouth!

Three morals for the price of one.

I don’t know if anyone is reading this, but if you are, I apologize for the spotty posting. I’m trying to get back into a more regular pattern. I promise. Of course, more regular post mean more boring stories and crappy photos, so be careful what you wish for, you know?

Leave a Reply

