Day Nineteen – Whole 30

Standard

UGH. I apologize in advance. There’s no funny here, no inspiration. Just a lot of anger and hurt with no outlet.

It’s really a perfect illustration of “if you can’t say something nice, say nothing at all.”

I’ve been following the Ice Bucket Challenge with excitement, because I lost my dad to ALS and it was frustrating how little is actually known about this disease. Tonight, one of my favorite bloggers, Garrett McCord of Vanilla Garlic, posted this:

“Dear Readers, please stop doing the ice bucket challenge which has raised over $9 million nationally and has insane celebrity backing. That nonprofit is doing just dandy now funding wise. Instead, please direct your donor dollars to your local nonprofits and better your own community a bit.”

UGH. I’m sick of a lot of things. I choose to keep them to myself, because I don’t like hurting people. It doesn’t matter how I feel about Bit Strips or Candy Crush or anything else. Other people aren’t sick of those things. They enjoy them. I can ignore it.

So yeah. I’m angry. Punch a dick in the face angry.

Breakfast: Banana slices and almond butter. I should have added an egg. We’re helping my grandmother unpack and I stupidly volunteered to get doughnuts. NEVER AGAIN. Also, DAMN, I WANT A DOUGHNUT!

Lunch: IMG_0966

Salad greens, carrot shreds and cucumber slices with sautéed shrimp and Awesome Sauce

Dinner:IMG_0970

OH Hades, you guys, this was good. Slow Cooker Korean Beef from Nom Nom Paleo.

Let me honest here. I did not use grass-fed short ribs like Tam suggests. Short ribs cost the earth, even at Winco. I used a brisket I found on sale. I cut it into 2 inch chunks and browned it. I also used shallots instead of scallions and a Gala apple instead of an Asian pear, because that’s what I had. AND I threw in some chopped pineapple to boost the sweet flavor and tenderize the meat a little. YUM. It’s definitely going in the regular rotation.

Be kind to each other and hey, donate a buck or two to ALS just to flip off stinky bloggers who have no idea what they’re talking about.

Leave a Reply

