Day Twenty-Six – Whole 30

Standard

Less than a week from the finish line and I’ve lost sight of it.

No. I didn’t give up. Actually, it’s the opposite. Eating this feels so normal now, I’m not really thinking about the end anymore. I imagined myself ticking off the days, hashmarks on my wall, à la Orange is the New Black. But no. I actually had to go back and count my days on a calendar in order to title this post.

I feel good. My favorite pants are so loose I can easily pull them off without unbuttoning them. They were comfortably snug before this, but I am swimming in them now.

It’s hard for me to sit still now. Instead of struggling to get up and do something, I find myself flitting around the house, picking up, doing small chores. It’s a change, for sure.

I’m looking to the future now. I may ask Santa for good running shoes and a quality running bra, because I want to take up running. Crazy, I know.

No pictures, this go around. I flatly refuse to take pictures of my food in public. And the rest of the time, I’m hungry and don’t think about a picture until the meal is half gone.

Day 24: This should have been a hard day. I was at a writing workshop all day. I ignored the muffins and pastries at breakfast. I didn’t even bat an eye at the sandwiches and pasta salads offered at lunch. My cocktail at a friend’s birthday party was virgin, I abstained from the sushi rolls and even chose fruit over the delicious looking chocolate roll cake my friend Andrea made. Andrea is a talented baker and to not cry when being denied one of her treats is heroic indeed.

A Lara bar and a small cup of black coffee.

Zucchini spears wrapped with proscuitto, tomato chunks and iced tea.

Sashimi and a non-alcoholic juice cocktail with a touch of basil that was magical. MAGICAL. Strawberries for dessert.

Day 25: An easy day. I stuck close to home, exhausted from being out all day the day before.

Baked sweet potato and a fried egg

Leftover almond breaded chicken and ranch dressing.

Tropical Flank Steak with grilled vegetables; mushrooms, a red onion, zucchini and sweet peppers, cut into chunks, tossed in olive oil and a bit of salt, then grilled in a grill basket. The veggies were awesome as always. I made a huge batch, because I wanted plenty leftover. The flank steak was good, but next time, I’ll add a tablespoon of fish sauce to the marinade. It needed something.

Day 26: Typical day – shoving the kids out the door, tending the baby, doing a little housework, because what the hell, right?

2 hardboiled eggs and a bowl of grilled veggies with a quarter of an avocado sliced into it.

Leftover flank steak and grilled veggies. (They are that freakin’ good. I promise.)

Blackberries and a spoonful of almond butter.

Grilled Salmon with Avocado Salsa and a herbed salad with tomatoes and Awesome Sauce for dressing. The salmon recipe is superb. I’m glad my kids refused to eat it. More for me, suckers.

Leave a Reply

